Senior Iris Susen Receives Emily Couric Leadership Forum Scholarship

We’re very proud of Tandem Friends senior Iris Susen, this year's Tandem Friends School nominee for The Emily Couric Leadership Scholarship Award, who was recently awarded an $18,000 scholarship from The Emily Couric Leadership Forum. The eleven local leadership award finalists (one from each local high school) were honored in person and online on April 11 and in the press. 

Iris joined Tandem in 11th grade, and has become an active and enthusiastic leader in academics and athletics. Iris has served as co-editor of our student newspaper, a member of our cross country and track teams, an active actor and Drama Club member here and in the local community, a Student Senate leader, a local on Meals on Wheels volunteer and camp counselor, an avid a capella singer and arranger, and so much more. Congratulations, Iris!

Check out a video shared by The Emily Couric Leadership Forum featuring Iris here. Learn more about each nominee here

The Emily Couric Leadership Forum "established the Emily Couric Leadership Scholarship to be awarded annually to a senior girl attending any high school in Charlottesville or Albemarle. The goal is to acknowledge and encourage young women in leadership roles in government and the community. Each school is asked to nominate a senior girl who demonstrates leadership in her school and the community. A selection committee comprised of community leaders interviews the nominees and makes the final selection."

The Emily Couric Leadership Forum itself honors the memory of State Senator Emily Couric, who modeled a strong commitment to learning and service. Her many contributions to the community encouraged all women to "adopt an active role in government, public issues, and policy debates affecting their communities, and to inspire young women to pursue activities which will enable them to become effective leaders." The group has awarded over $1M to young women since the scholarships began in 2001, and awarded $150,000 for this 2022 year.