Student Life

Student Government

Since its founding, Tandem Friends has embraced John Dewey's idea that a school should serve as an "embryonic democracy" in which students participate directly in the life of the school.

In the Middle School, 8th graders lead morning meeting, and plan and run Middle School dances, getting a taste of what it takes to work organizationally together.

In the Upper School, seniors run morning meeting, and Upper School students may run for election to two governing student bodies - the Student Senate and Standards Committee.

Occasional Open Meetings are called when students feel compelled to give voice to questions or concerns.

Student Senate

The Student Senate's mission is to enrich the school community by representing students. The Senate sponsors experiential learning opportunities for students, working to cultivate community service and to extend learning beyond the classroom. 
The Senate works to deepen our Quaker identity and to foster a thriving spiritual life at the school. The Senate provides opportunities for students to engage in the life of the school by hosting social gatherings such as dances, and facilitating student engagement. The Senate represents students in policy making to the faculty and within the community and runs Open Meetings.

Senate officers and grade representatives are elected from within the Upper School each year.

2017-2018 Senate Officers - TBD

President: Julia Calland
Vice-President: Tori Carter-Johnston
Secretary: Laila Whynott
Treasurer: Conor Shillue

Senate Grade Representatives

12th Grade
Ben Chen
Trainor Ward

11th Grade
Emma Johnson
Jeremy Odrich

10th Grade
Meridith Frazee
Nathan Stevenson

9th Grade
Olivia Bowers
Julian Macalister

Faculty Mentor
Jen Burstein

Standards Committee

Our notion of discipline is founded upon the school's basis of trust and its commitment to freedom with responsibility. The Standards Committee, composed of student-elected representatives from grades 9-12 and volunteer faculty members, works collectively with those students referred to Standards by a teacher, administrator or peer for disciplinary reasons. The committee determines the nature of the infraction and makes recommendations regarding appropriate disciplinary action to the Division Director. (Middle School students are not sent to Standards as the Middle School has their own disciplinary guidelines in place.) Less serious disciplinary issues in the Upper School are handled directly by the Upper School Director, while major violations (those with potential grounds for suspension or dismissal) are handled by a Discipline Review Committee convened by the Head of School.

Students are elected to Standards by their peers to serve a two-year term; three students per grade serve, with openings filled at the beginning of each year as terms are completed.

Standards Committee Members

12th Grade
Tori Carter-Johnston
Emma Hitchcock
Ke'alani Sison
11th Grade
Harriet Caplin
Nick Passino
Jess Snelling
10th Grade
Phiala Deal
Elyse Jabalee-Farrell
Elise VanDerLoo

9th Grade
Austin Chinn
Sophie Farr
Daisy Schult
Faculty Moderators
Steve Ganong
Nancy Hiles Johnson