Student Life

Student Government

Since its founding, Tandem Friends has embraced John Dewey's idea that a school should serve as an "embryonic democracy" in which students participate directly in the life of the school.

In the Middle School, 8th graders lead morning meeting, and plan and run Middle School dances, getting a taste of what it takes to work organizationally together.

In the Upper School, seniors run morning meeting, and Upper School students may run for election to two governing student bodies - the Student Senate and Standards Committee.

Occasional Open Meetings are called when students feel compelled to give voice to questions or concerns.

Student Senate

The Student Senate's mission is to enrich the school community by representing students. The Senate sponsors experiential learning opportunities for students, working to cultivate community service and to extend learning beyond the classroom. 
The Senate works to deepen our Quaker identity and to foster a thriving spiritual life at the school. The Senate provides opportunities for students to engage in the life of the school by hosting social gatherings such as dances, and facilitating student engagement. The Senate represents students in policy making to the faculty and within the community and runs Open Meetings.

Senate officers and grade representatives are elected from within the Upper School each year.

2018-2019 Senate Officers

President: Jeremy Odrich, Class of 2019
Vice-President: Emma Johnson, Class of 2019
Secretary: Meridith Frazee, Class of 2020
Treasurer: Conor Shillue, Class of 2019
Communications: Charlie Kennedy, Class of 2019

2018-2019 Senate Grade Representatives

12th Grade: Charlie Schuyler, Wyatt Henneman
11th Grade: Olivia Bullock, Elyse Jabalee-Farrell
10th Grade: Olivia Bowers, Ford Scott
9th Grade: Anya Bullock, Madeleine Caduff 

Faculty Mentors
Jocelyn Camarata
Evan Waters

Standards Committee

Our notion of discipline is founded upon the school's basis of trust and its commitment to freedom with responsibility. The Standards Committee, composed of student-elected representatives from grades 9-12 and volunteer faculty members, works collectively with those students referred to Standards by a teacher, administrator or peer for disciplinary reasons. The committee determines the nature of the infraction and makes recommendations regarding appropriate disciplinary action to the Division Director. (Middle School students are not sent to Standards as the Middle School has their own disciplinary guidelines in place.) Less serious disciplinary issues in the Upper School are handled directly by divisional leadership, while major violations (those with potential grounds for suspension or dismissal) are handled by a Discipline Review Committee convened by the Head of School.

Students are elected to Standards by their peers; two students each in grades 9 and 10 serve, three students each in grades 11 and 12 serve, and openings are filled at the beginning of each year as terms are completed.

Standards Committee Members

12th Grade
Harriet Caplin
Nick Passino
Jess Snelling
11th Grade
Phiala Deal
Jonathan Scholl
Adam Zhang
10th Grade
Austin Chinn
Sophie Farr
Daisy Schult

9th Grade
Emma Jabalee-Farrell
Sophie Passino
Faculty Moderators
Jocelyn Camarata
Mark Goldstein
Nancy Hiles Johnson